Tags

, , , , ,

Waiting, Trusting?

If I am an expert on anything, it is waiting on the Lord.

The year was 1971 and I was 12 years old. The Lord spoke to me in Phoenix, Arizona as I came out of our Vacation Bible School class saying, “Why was Jesus’ ministry only 3½ years?”

Though I waited for the answer to that question for nearly 34 years I consistently asked Pastors, scholars and Theologians to no effect.

No one I encountered seemed to know the answer to that question until the Lord shared His answer with me shortly after I began the book, “This Side of the Whirlwind, The Coming Apocalypse.”

Still Waters

In December of 1989 and for the next four months thereafter the Lord spoke to me each month saying He was taking me out of ministry, the workforce and sending me into obscurity. Long story short… today I have been waiting on the Lord for more than twenty-seven years to release back into ministry or the workforce and use me according to a prophecy I was given eight times over the course on nine month.

What’s the point?

Waiting on the Lord is doing the Lord’s work!

In many ways waiting on the Lord is more difficult than doing in the name of the Lord. We are doer oriented.

Well, that’s fairly obvious to those who have had to wait on the Lord for very long. For those who have never truly waited on anything except their own will and wants… it could not well or easily be explained, the difficulties and challenges of waiting for an extended period of time.

Waiting on the Lord leaves gaping holes in your psyche and doubting in the empty passages of time which is inescapable in your life when waiting on the Lord.

Nevertheless, waiting on the Lord is a necessary skill which forges trust and patience.

I always think of 2 Corinthians chapter six when I think of waiting on the Lord, you know… longsuffering.

But in all things approving ourselves as the ministers of God, in much patience, in afflictions, in necessities, in distresses, in stripes, in imprisonments, in tumults, in labours, in watchings, in fastings; by pureness, by knowledge, by longsuffering, by kindness, by the Holy Ghost, by love unfeigned… (2 Corinthians 6:4-6 KJV emphasis added)

And how do you learn longsuffering…?

By suffering a long time!

If you are waiting on the Lord in some area of your life: BE AT Peace!

Jesus is that great ROCK in the midst of a raging river.

Remember this: Follow the last set of orders given by the Lord.

Trust that He knows you are waiting on Him.

Trust that waiting on Him is walking faithfully in the things of God.

Spend “much” time in His presence praying, singing, worshipping, verbally affirming His last set of instructions in your life and knowing He is there for you and knows what you are enduring.

If you have not walked in the things of the Lord for very long you may have little to no idea what I’m referring.

In April of 1990 when the last Word of Knowledge on this subject came to me the Lord said, “I am taking you out of ministry and the workforce and sending you into obscurity” I knew then in the context of the Word of Knowledge that I was to wait on the Lord in that station or position of service as instructed or until otherwise instructed by the Lord.

Even when the Lord instructed me to write the book, “This Side of the Whirlwind, The Coming Apocalypse” I knew I was to remain in obscurity.

Then the truly difficult part came when the book was published and I was sure the book should take off and reach the entire world and YET still I waited on the Lord.  No new instructions yet.

Talk about doubt and uncertainty, wow!  I was nearly wrecked at times.

Just remember: Trust in the Lord with ALL of your heart, mind and soul and leaning not on your own understanding is faith in practice.

God is not in a rush…

We are the ones in a hurry or impatient…

Trust in the Lord regardless of your insecurities.

He knows what and when He is doing everything.

Trust Him.

And smile!

Yeah, that’s it!

