Tags

, , , , , , ,

Jimmy

A few months ago I received call from a friend with a request for me to visit a poor suffering man in his home. As soon as the gentleman was mentioned I knew at once there was a deliverance issue within this young believer’s life.  Not generally my go to.

donkeyMeet Jimmy; I know, Jimmy is really cute. Sorry Jim, I just couldn’t resist?

As I prayed over the phone with my friend, I could tell the Lord was going to send me to his home, the home of a demon possessed man. It had been a long time since I had been involved in an actual deliverance. I was a little concerned.Before going to the gentleman’s home that following day, I prayed and considered taking at least one other solid believer, a friend who could back me up in prayer or if worse came to worse, a witness and an extra set of strong arms.

The Lord filled me with peace and told me I would not need another believer at this time.

As I left the following morning to go to (we’ll call him, Jimmy) Jimmy’s home I once again prayed about taking a friend in the Lord, yet again the Lord said, “No.”

So far, all I knew about Jimmy was that the Lord told me he had a deliverance need. The friend who called me that morning said Jimmy had a deliverance need and my daughter who only heard his name once immediately felt the Lord say Jimmy had deliverance needs.

Well, I arrive at Jimmy’s home unsure as to whether or not Jimmy is even saved. My friend on the phone was unsure.  I, of course, am praying in the Spirit as I approach his front door and knock!

Jimmy answers his door with a big smile and I can immediately see the Holy Spirit all over his face. One of my lifelong spiritual gifts has been the ability to see the Holy Spirit on people; not everyone, but most Spirit filled believers.  Most often, though we have not previously met, this spiritual awareness generally translates into me thinking I knew the person before, oops.  Over time I have come to distinguish the different between old friends and Spirit filled believers; at least, most of the time, because their visages are quite similar.

At any rate… Jimmy invites me into his home and we begin to get to know one another. Somewhere within the first hour, long before Jimmy begins to share his personal struggles, the Lord begins to show me Jimmy’s great need.

The Lord showed me that Jimmy had indeed received the Holy Spirit many years ago as a young man; however, only a short time after Jimmy’s filling by the Holy Ghost Jimmy foolishly visited a group of soothsayers or shaman seeking counsel and was wickedly set upon by a demon. I was reminded of the following verses in Mark at that time:

“The sower sows the word.

 “And these are the ones by the wayside where the word is sown. When they hear, Satan comes immediately and takes away the word that was sown in their hearts. (Mark 4:14-15 NKJV)

As I am sitting across the table from Jimmy I suddenly see a three or four inch opening in the air surrounding Jimmy’s head and shoulders. The opening is in the form of a band which contours Jimmy’s head and shoulders (I had not experienced the like of it before). The area within the band appears to be an opening or gap between the natural world and the spiritual world where I can see a pair of twisted hands, likely demonic, protruding into our world and hovering on both sides of Jimmy’s head.  The actions quickly remind me of what a medium or soothsayer might do should they want to deceive someone into believing they could read someone’s mind.

After a moment, I hear the voice of the Lord saying, “He is being deceived.”

With this Word of Knowledge emerges the following concept:

“Jimmy needs to work towards understanding that he is being deceived by a demonic presence; a presence which has deceived him for many years. The Lord said He needs to internalize this truth that “he is being deceived” before he will be ready for deliverance.” Unfortunately, I was not allowed to pray for Jimmy’s release at that time.  The Lord said no.  Jimmy was going to have to spend some quality time with Jesus.

Once I understood the words of the Lord and the attached concepts, I was then told that Jimmy believed he was being constantly surveilled, stalked and otherwise tormented by peoples and individuals unknown to him. He didn’t know why or exactly who, Jimmy just simply believed he had been stalked for nearly thirteen years.  This deception has nearly ruined Jimmy’s life and the lives of his family.

After receiving this information from the Lord I knew Jimmy would be hard pressed to believe anything I said; nevertheless, I still had to give him the Word of Knowledge.

I turned to Jimmy and said, “Jimmy, the Lord is telling me that you are being deceived. You believe you are being surveilled by people, but it is all a deception from the enemy.  (I then shared the vision of the demonic hands hovering beside his head) You are being deceived by this demonic presence which has been tormenting your life since you went to see a psychic or shaman.”

Jimmy then admitted I spoke the truth; regardless, he began trying to convince me the stalking, phone-tapping and government surveillance we discussed was real. He couldn’t simply be deceived, it was all real. Jimmy then began to ask how these issues could be resolved.

I told him that the Lord was showing me that he needed to take his eyes off of the wind and the waves (his belief that he was being stalked) and place his eyes firmly on Jesus and the things Jesus has for his life. I shared with Jimmy how he was suffering like Peter did when Jesus walked on the waters and Peter sank into the torrent of waters about him.  He just needed to trust that Jesus is there, is real, is God. Jesus offered Peter His saving hand but Peter could not believe at that time (Matthew 14:22-33). Jesus still pulled Peter out of the waters and delivered him to the shore.

I went on the tell Jimmy that he would have to reject the idea he was being stalked. I was not saying the stalking was or was not true; rather, I was informing Jimmy that if he wanted deliverance he would need to put the stalking behind him, trust the Lord and focus on Jesus and Jesus’ purposes and plans for Jimmy’s life.

I further informed Jimmy that the delusions would simply intensify over the next few weeks and months because the demonic forces tormenting Jimmy’s life were not going to give up without a fight.  Sadly, such was and is the case.  God knows what He is doing.

I let Jimmy know that if he wanted to be truly free from this situation that he was going to have to listen to the Lord and pursue liberty from these Satanic forces by obeying God’s instructions.  Remember, I said, (James 4:6-8)

Submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded. (James 4:7-8 NKJV)

Sadly, I sought the Lord that day for an opportunity to pray for Jimmy’s deliverance. The Lord said, “Not yet.” I did not understand at that time why the Lord would not allow me to just cast that wicked beast out of Jimmy’s life; yet, still I obeyed. However, as time has gone by and I have sought counsel and comfort on Jimmy behalf, I have sorrowfully watched Jimmy’s lack of progress and I have come to recognize how correct was God’s wisdom regarding the issues of Jimmy’s deliverance at that time.

“When an unclean spirit goes out of a man, he goes through dry places, seeking rest; and finding none, he says, ‘I will return to my house from which I came.’

“And when he comes, he finds it swept and put in order.

“Then he goes and takes with him seven other spirits more wicked than himself, and they enter and dwell there; and the last state of that man is worse than the first.” (Luke 11:24-26 NKJV)

Even though God sent a perfect stranger into Jimmy’s life; one who immediately identified Jimmy as someone previously filled with the Holy Spirit, Jimmy could not believe.

Though God showed this stranger Words of Knowledge and visions with intimate details pertaining to Jimmy’s life, details the stranger could not have known other than through God’s insight, Jimmy could not trust the Lord and reject the idea he was being surveilled and stalked.

Even as everything I shared with Jimmy came to pass over the following weeks he could not and would not receive the idea of a demon deceiving him. To date, every time I encourage Jimmy to stop watching the wind and the waves, get his eyes on the Lord and reject the idea he is being stalked… Jimmy simply and sadly attempts once again to prove he is truly being stalked, surveilled and tormented.

I know he is being tormented and yet, God has perfect timing when it comes to accomplishing His will.

Please pray for Jimmy! Pray the Lord will open his eyes to the deception. Pray Jimmy can find a way to trust the Lord and obey God’s instructions. Pray for Jimmy’s deliverance.

The Lord showed me that Jimmy will receive that deliverance in time. I do not presume to know the “whys or wherefores” of what God is doing.  I just trust in the Lord!

I still find this situation very difficult; especially for Jimmy.

Please pray for Jimmy!

For questions or comments:

