Tags

, , , , ,

The Angel Declared!

Imagine the encounter the Prophet Daniel must have experienced when the angel Gabriel once again appeared in the flesh before the Prophet and declared, “Oh Daniel, I have now come to give you insight and understanding. As soon as you began to pray, a word went out, which I have come to tell you, for you are highly esteemed. Therefore, consider the word and understand the vision.” (Daniel 9:22-23 NIV)  Did Daniel truly understand?

angel

The angel then proceeded to give Daniel the Seventy Weeks of Daniel prophecy which of course informed Daniel of when the Messiah would be born, which was at the end of the 62 weeks segment of the prophecy. Today we know that specific timeframe falls somewhere during BC 3 when Jesus was born.

Know and understand that from the going forth of the commandment to restore and to build Jerusalem unto the Messiah the Prince shall be 7 weeks and 62 weeks. (Daniel 9:25 KJV)

I wonder if Daniel understood all the implications behind the prophecy. Did he know the seventieth week would represent the two halves of Christ’s, the Messiah’s, Covenant? Additionally, do you think Daniel pieced together Micah 5:2, the prophecy which foretold the birthplace of the Messiah in Bethlehem Ephratah?

Bethlehem, meaning the “house of bread” and Ephratah representing the “house or place of fruitfulness”.

You know:

  • Blessed be thou Lord God Almighty, King of the Universe who brings forth the “Bread” from the ground.   “OR”
  • Blessed be thou Lord God Almighty, King of the Universe who brings forth the “Fruit” from the Vine.   GET IT? Cool, I know.communion
  • You know, Jesus is the communion! He is the bread of life and the cup of wine of the covenant. Except you eat His flesh and drink His blood we can have no life in you (John 6:53 paraphrased).

 

I also wonder if Daniel put the Seventy Weeks of Daniel prophecy together with Isaiah 7:14:

Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son and shall call his name Immanuel.

Immanuel meaning, “God with us!” which is way cool once again!

Daniel could have known all about Joseph’s and Mary’s flight to Egypt from Hosea 11:1 which states, “When Israel was a child then I loved him, and called my son out of Egypt.”

How interesting it must have been for Daniel to foreknow that the Messiah would bring the “Gospel Message” to the gentiles from Isaiah 9:2:

The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light: they that dwell in the land of the shadow of death, upon them hath the light shined.

Then of course there is the mysterious one, the prophecy about Jesus, the Messiah being a Priest after the order of Melchizedek taken from Psalm 110:4 and Hebrew’s 6:20.

The LORD hath sworn, and will not repent; “Thou art a priest forever after the order of Melchizedek.” (KJV)

You know Melchizedek was a Priest of the Most High God who is said to have neither father, nor mother or beginning or ending of days. Melchizedek is said to be the King of Salem an eternal being serving the King of Heaven, God the Father.  Interestingly, Jesus is called the Prince of Salem or Prince of Peace.  Curious, yeah?

Could Daniel have seen how the Israelites would have rejected Jesus as the coming Messiah as foretold in Isaiah 53:3 or the tragic betrayal by His close friend and follower Judas Iscariot based on Psalm 41:9?

Even my close friend, someone I trusted, one who shared my bread, has turned against me. (NIV)

I doubt Daniel foresaw our beloved Savior’s disappointment when Judas sold His Master and friend for just 30 pieces of silver. After all, Zechariah had not yet written his verse; leastwise, not for another hundred years.30-pcs

Then I said to them, “If it is agreeable to you, give me my wages; and if not, refrain.” So they weighed out for my wages thirty pieces of silver. (Zechariah 11:12 NKJV)

I hope Daniel didn’t have to see the vision of our Savior’s back on the day of His abuse.

 I gave my back to the smiters, and my cheeks to them that plucked off the hair. I hid not my face from shame and spitting. (Isaiah 50:6 KJV)

Sweet Lord, have mercy, I pray Daniel did not perceive my Savior’s suffering on the day He gave His life for my sin.On the Cross

Therefore I will give him a portion among the great, and he will divide the spoils with the strong, because he poured out his life unto death, and was numbered with the transgressors. For he bore the sin of many, and made intercession for the transgressors. (Isaiah 53:12 NIV)

What did Daniel see that day in the presence of Gabriel?

I hope Daniel was privileged enough to watch Jesus rise from the dead and claim the victory of His birthright and the glory of His and our resurrections.resurretion

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, nor will you let your faithful one see decay. (Psalms 16:9-10 NIV)

And what a joy it must have been if Daniel was able to see Christ’s ascension into the heavens to take His rightful place at the right hand of OUR Father. Father God!

When you ascended on high, you took many captives; you received gifts from people, even from the rebellious— that you, LORD God, might dwell there. (Psalms 68:18 NIV)imagesbvlsi3en

Lord, just like You have had written in Your Word, “You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” (Psalms 16:11 NIV)

Daniel must have been exceedingly blessed even as we, Your children, are blessed during this and every Christmas Season; for we can celebrate the wonders of Your Word and the miraculous grandeurs of Your living Word made Flesh. Blessed be the name of the Lord Jesus Christ!

As you can see, The Seventy Weeks of Daniel prophecy was neither the first nor the last prophecy designed to proclaim and announce the coming of the World’s Savior in the days of Jesus Christ.

Similarly, as many prophecies currently pronounce and declare the coming of the Second Half of Christ’s Covenant, the Great Consummation. Learn these wondrous prophecies and declare them to all the world, for the Son of God soon returns for the faithful in Christ.  Blessed be the name of the Lord!

Merry Christmas!

DSCN1012

Brother in Christ,

Steven R. Harrel

 

 

