Tags

, , , , ,

Beyond the Shadow of a Doubt!

Somewhere between the ages of twenty and twenty-two I realized I was not sure about the validity of my faith, Christianity. In my short little life I had been raised as a Christian, received prophecies or Words of Knowledge which had been witnessed and or come to pass, been filled with the Holy Spirit – seen and actual angel and even encountered demons.  And yet, somehow I still wondered if I were merely a product of my religious upbringing.  Pretty foolish, I know, but I was young and dumb.

Well, there I was, Italy, 3:00 a.m., standing in the middle of an Italian wilderness staring into the night sky on guard-duty. I had been living anything but a Christian lifestyle at that time and was seriously wondering if any of this Christian stuff really mattered.  So, as I looked into the evening sky I began to pray earnestly; apparently God was listening…

fontaniva

Fontaniva

Dear God, I believe You are out there; however I’m not sure I believe enough to give up all the things I’ve been doing in my life. You See Lord, the way I look at it is this:

I figure one day I’ll be 95 years old, and I’ll die, and then I’ll just be dead, and I will have given up all the fun things in life, the money, and the women, and partying, and I’ll just be dead, and the joke will be on me.  The joke will be on me, because I will have given up all these fun things for nothing.   For this reason God, I’ll make this deal with You: if You will show me beyond a shadow of a doubt in my mind, so that I will know, that I know, that I know, You are real, and not just some figment of my imagination.  But that You are real, and that I’m an individual to You and not just some guy in a multitude of billions of people on this little planet, but that I am actually an individual to You, and that You have a purpose and a plan for my life.  If You will show me these things Lord and that You are there, then I will serve You all the days of my life.  However, God, if You choose to show Yourself and these things to me, then I will have to put in a catch thirteen for this deal.  Because Lord, no man can truly promise to love a woman or any other thing all the days of his life, simply because we do not know what tomorrow will bring.  We don’t know what we’ll be doing in 40 years.  Therefore, for this reason, I say these things with this catch: If You do show me that You are real, and that I’m an individual to You, and that You have a purpose and plan for my life, then I will serve you all the days of my life “if” You will give me the strength to do so.  Because, only by Your giving me this strength can I possibly hope to actually live up to the promise.  So this I say I will do if You will do that for me and give me the strength.

I know, a crazy prayer.  Well, I was just twenty or twenty-one years old, what can you expect.  I remember feeling as if my prayer was actually being heard; apparently, it was!

We’ll continue with the next segment on one of the next posts.

Until then, keep reading my book.  Send any questions you may have to: thissideofthewhirlwind@gmail.com

I will answer each question according to the Lord’s message in His Word.

Until next time… Smile, pray, trust the Lord and prepare for the coming of the Great Consummation.

