Tags

, ,

Chicken and the Egg

Strum the guitars rejoice in the day for God is my Potter and I His mired clay.

So, back to the question: who can really determine the meaning for our lives?

Well, obviously the One who initially created each life; in this case, the Creator/God.

Your mom and dad did not create you; rather, they merely perpetuated what the Creator established as the manner in which life is perpetuated.

Just like the “Bible” said, “And God made the beast of the earth after his kind, and cattle after their kind, and every thing that creepeth upon the earth after his kind: and God saw that it was good.” (Genesis 1:25 KJV)  Imagine that!

But what if there is no God?

Then everything is subjective and ultimately meaningless with no absolutes. There is zero meaning without a Creator and universal foundation and that cannot be established except by a divine and infinite being; hence, we need God to have any real meaning to life.

Of course the need for God does not establish or confirm that God actually exists. So what does?

Well, that is a message for another 300 posts; and it is for this reason we must suspend disbelief and declare, “God exists and is intimately involved in the lives of the human-race.” Otherwise, this post is meaningless – And it is not!  All anyone needs to do is read my “True Life” series to know there is something greater than ourselves.

Alpine Adventure 260

Before I can fully answer the question, what is the meaning of life, we need to understand a few of God’s basic attributes.

 

(This is a Chicken and the Egg scenario. If the God of the Bible is real then the Bible can be real; however, if the God of the Bible is a fairytale then it doesn’t really matter, does it?)

God is eternal, everlasting, non-ending and infinite: Genesis 1:1, 1 Timothy 1:17.

  1. God is all knowing, omniscient and in possession of all knowledge: Psalms 147:5, Isaiah 40:28.
  2. God knows the future and the past in equally clear and precise detail: Isaiah 46:9-10

“Remember the former things long past, For I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is no one like Me, Declaring the end from the beginning, And from ancient times things which have not been done, Saying, ‘My purpose will be established, And I will accomplish all My good pleasure.’”

4. God is all powerful: Isaiah 44:24, Jeremiah 32:17.

“This is what the LORD says— your Redeemer, who formed you in the womb: I am the LORD, the Maker of all things, who stretches out the heavens, who spreads out the earth by myself.”

With these attributes in mind, we can skip to the chase: What is the meaning of life?

Space

And this is where we will continue next time.

Getting anxious yet? I know I am!

I can’t wait to learn the REAL – Meaning of Life!

I hope there are some chili-dog metaphors in there somewhere.

I know, I shouldn’t be so silly on such an important and serious subject… it is just – and don’t tell anyone – my alter-ego keeps slipping in and writing silly quips. I’ve tried to stop him but he is really quick and goofy.

DSCN1190

I guess the Lord, the Creator wanted me this way?

 

After all, look what the Bible says, “But now, O LORD, You are our Father; we are the clay, and You our potter; and all we are the work of Your hand.” (God must like silly.  After all, he made me.)  Isaiah 64:8 KJV.

Oops! Someone threw in a plug for my book!

Who could have done that? I wonder who it could be?

If you have any questions or comments:

To get your copy of “This Side of the Whirlwind” contact:

http://bookstore.westbowpress.com/Products/SKU-001016204/This-Side-of-the-Whirlwind.aspx,

TSWW BK Cover

http://www.amazon.com/This-Side-Whirlwind-Steven-Harrel/dp/1512734063/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1464582881&sr=8-1&keywords=This+Side+of+the+Whirlwind,

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/this-side-of-the-whirlwind-steven-r-harrel/1123688752?ean=9781512734065,

http://www.thissideofthewhirlwind.com , www.Borders.com

 

