Hearing God’s Voice

How did you learn to hear your mother’s voice?

That’s right… you listened and learned over time.

Pam and kids 87

Of course, you also had to learn her language, come to understand her euphemisms and colloquialisms. Each element mentioned required spending time with your mother, friend, sibling…

DSCN7085The same can be said for hearing God’s voice with the exception of leaning God’s language. The Bible is God’s language translated into your native tongue from God’s version of a native tongue for humanity.   Without spending time in God’s Word, the Bible, it is difficult to learn God’s euphemisms, colloquialism or slangs.  Many people refer to these factors as Christianese.

For instance {I’ve been redeemed by the blood of the Lamb!}

There is also another difference. God is precise in His language, never deviating from His character or Word.  E.g. people have stolen, lied, cheated and even killed in Christ’s or God’s name to further their own goals; goals not in keeping with the character or Word of God. As you have likely guessed, it wasn’t God speaking to these individuals.  Yes, it could have been demonic, but it is far more likely the person’s base nature was simply speaking to their want or need.

In “This Side of the Whirlwind: True Life 8” I write about a Word I was given from the Lord in 1984, instructing me to call my in-laws to babysit our daughter so I could then take my wife Pam to TMC Hospital in Tucson, Arizona as soon as possible. I followed those instructions as much as I could.  But, what if I had taken her to a closer hospital, because there were three other hospitals closer between our home and TMC?  The answer… Pam was received by an all Christian staff at the hospital that night and more importantly Pam’s own physician was on call at that time as the Emergency Room Doctor.  According to her doctor, if Pam had not arrived and been properly diagnosed at that time she would have died within thirty minutes.  Good thing God spoke and I listened.

What God says and how He says it can be equally important. After all, what is not important when the Creator of the Universe speaks?  Should God choose to provide a Word of Knowledge or vision or conceptual awareness for His purposes it is extremely important to consider all aspects of God’s impartation of knowledge and apply it as accurately as possible.

Here is yet another example, when I was sixteen and hanging-out with Pam – my girlfriend at that time – the Lord gave me a prophecy which went like this, “When you are nineteen and Pam is sixteen the two of you will get married and have two children, a girl and a boy.” As I received this prophecy I perceived the girl would be born first and the boy thereafter.  This knowledge was critical many years later as this one prophecy transformed our lives.  You can read about the additional details in “This Side of the Whirlwind: True Life 4; I’m Not Listening”

This subject of properly listening to God’s voice and Word is brought to your attention to educate and inspire you as a believer. Hearing God’s voice is our birthright.  Jesus said, “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.” (John 10:27 KJV)  As believers we can hear God’s voice if we are truly listening.  We need to shut up to actually listen.  I know it can be hard to spend time in prayer and just listen.

I also bring this subject up because it is significantly applicable to an upcoming True Life post.

Steve's 2006 Camping Trip 077

A long and dangerous road!

Too many Christians treat speaking in the name of the Lord like a party-favor or game. Churches and Pastors allow prophetic utterance within their congregations without proper supervision while other ministries disavow or disallow prophecy altogether.  Each of these scenarios is a mistake.  We want to hear God’s current living Word.  This Side of the Whirlwind is an example of God speaking into our world a powerful and prophetic living Word for today. But, speaking offhandedly in God’s name is a mistake too.

Jeremiah 23:28-32:

“The prophet who has a dream, let him tell a dream; and he who has My word, let him speak My word faithfully. What is the chaff to the wheat?” says the LORD.  “Is not My word like a fire?” says the LORD, and like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces?”

“Therefore behold, I am against the prophets,” says the LORD, “who steal My words every one from his neighbor.

“Behold, I am against the prophets,” says the LORD, “who use their tongues and say, ‘He says.’

“Behold, I am against those who prophesy false dreams,” says the LORD, “and tell them, and cause My people to err by their lies and by their recklessness. Yet I did not send them or command them; therefore they shall not profit this people at all,” says the LORD.

Speak wisely and tread lightly in the name of the Lord or don’t speak at all in His name!

In an upcoming blog I will illustrate how a seemingly simple prophetic instruction I received was taken incorrectly.  Almost no one who heard it perceived what I heard so clearly and correctly. The misinterpretations of others still impacts my life after more than a decade. So, until next time… don’t touch that dial; open those spiritual ears; learn that language of God and listen closely!

God bless you.

So, have you ever received a Word from the Lord?

Was it confirmed by the mouth of two or three witnesses?

Did it come to pass exactly as the Word was given?

And did the Word from the Lord stand up to the scrutiny of God’s Word?

Okay, well here’s my advertising for my book which was given by divine revelation:

“This Side of the Whirlwind” was given by God for this specific generation which is living in the Latter Days and the time of the Great Consummation.  Better get your copy soon.  The end of the world as we know it is nearly here.

So, to get your copy of “This Side of the Whirlwind” contact:

http://bookstore.westbowpress.com/Products/SKU-001016204/This-Side-of-the-Whirlwind.aspx,

Post View

http://www.amazon.com/This-Side-Whirlwind-Steven-Harrel/dp/1512734063/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1464582881&sr=8-1&keywords=This+Side+of+the+Whirlwind,

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/this-side-of-the-whirlwind-steven-r-harrel/1123688752?ean=9781512734065,

http://www.thissideofthewhirlwind.com , www.Borders.com

